About the Arkansas Soybean Promotion Board

Mission Statement:

The Arkansas Soybean Promotion Board was established to improve the sustainability and profitability of the soybean industry in Arkansas.

 The Arkansas Soybean Promotion Board consists of soybean producers nominated by various producer organizations within Arkansas and appointed by the governor.

Although board members contribute many hours of their time to administering the program, they serve without pay.

This board, with a goal of improving the sustainability and profitability of the soybean industry in Arkansas, is responsible for distributing funds from the checkoff.

Funds are used primarily for research and Extension projects conducted University of Arkansas Agricultural Experiment Station and Cooperative Extension Service.

  • Shannon Davis, Bono, Chairman
  • West Higginbothom, Marianna, Vice Chairman
  • Gary Sitzer, Weiner, Secretary/Treasurer
  • Drew Oliver, Proctor
  • Jim Carroll, Brinkley*
  • Rusty Smith, Des Arc*
  • Joe Thrash, Conway
  • Donald Morton, Jr., Des Arc
  • John Freeman, Dumas
  • Dr. Lanny Ashlock, Project Manager

*Denotes current and past United Soybean Board of Directors

For additional information about any board-related activity contact us online.