ARKANSAS SOYBEAN ASSOCIATION



1501 N Pierce, Suite 100 Little Rock, Arkansas 72207 501.666.1418 (phone) 501.666.2510 (fax) swsoy@aristotle.net (email)

Soybean Yield Contest Winners Announced

Little Rock, AR (January 27, 2021) - The Arkansas Soybean Promotion Board and the Arkansas Soybean Association are pleased to announce the winners of the 2020 Grow for the Green Soybean Yield Contest. The contest divided state soybean producers into 9 groups, 7 geographic regions, one all state conventional (non-GMO) category and new for 2020 a Champions Category. Cash prizes were awarded to the top 3 producers in each division achieving a minimum of 60 Bu/A. Winners were announced this morning at the 2021 Annual Meeting of the Arkansas Soybean Association.

We want to commend all of the 76 soybean producers who entered the 2020 Grow for the Green Soybean Yield Contest and we are proud to announce that 2 of these producers reached and exceeded the 100 bushel/acre milestone in 2020. The Race for 100 Yield Contest began in 2007 and in 2013, the first three producers reached the goal. Ronnie Ragsdell from Lawrence county is the newest member of the 100 Bushel Club with a yield of 104.067 bu/a. Ragsdell grew Pioneer P48A60X and became the 23rd producer to join the 100 Bushel Club. Matt Miles from Desha county once again hit the 100-bushel mark with a yield of 116.858 bu/a growing Pioneer P47A64X. He became the winner of the first Champion of Champions category.

Congratulations to the following winners of the 2020 Grow for the Green Soybean Yield Contest. We appreciate the participation of all the producers entered in the contest and the sharing of their production methods and management practices with the rest of the Arkansas soybean industry.

Division	Producer	County	Variety	Final Yield (bu/ac)
1-Northeast Delta	Linwood Wells	Green	Pioneer P48A60X	97.131
	Casey Hook	Craighead	Pioneer P48A60X	91.237
	David DaVault	Greene	Asgrow AG46X0	86.756
2-Northeast	Ronnie Ragsdell	Lawrence	Pioneer P48A60X	104.067
	Nick Ragsdell	Lawrence	Asgrow AG46X6	95.438
	Dennis Stephens	Cross	Pioneer P48A60X	85.966
3-White River Basin	Richard Walker	Jackson	Pioneer P48A60X	93.471
	John Walker	Jackson	Pioneer P47A76L	92.808
	Terry Fuller	Monroe	Pioneer 49T62 E	63.131
4-Central &	Taylor Burdett	Arkansas	Pioneer P45A57X	93.422

Grand Prairie	Davis Bell	Prairie	Pioneer P48A60X	85.888
	David Petter	Prairie	Pioneer P42A96X	84.851
5-East Central Delta	Neil Culp	Phillips	Asgrow AG45X8	97.480
	Chris Carnathan	Phillips	Asgrow AG46X6	89.751
	Jeff Carnathan	Phillips	Asgrow 4AG6X6	87.073
6-Southeast Delta	Kenneth Robertson	Desha	Pioneer P46A86X	92.075
	Caper Robertson	Desha	Armor 48D25	91.431
7-Western	Greg Hart	Conway	Pioneer P49A41L	77.149
	Jeremy Kitchens	Lafayette	Orlando 2047E	61.644
8-Conventional	Brandon Stephens Laura Stephens Hunter Stephens	Cross Cross	Virtue 4702S Virtue 4702S Virtue 4702S	82.013 76.109 66.308
Champions group	Matt Miles	Desha	Pioneer P47A64X	116.858

The Grow for the Green Yield Soybean Yield Challenge is funded by the Arkansas Soybean Promotion Board using producer checkoff funds. The contests are administered by the Arkansas Soybean Association in cooperation with the University of Arkansas System Division of Agriculture. Many thanks to the county extension staff and independent consultants who help producers achieve these yields and serve as harvest judges. Complete contest harvest information is available on the websites of the Arkansas Soybean Promotion Board and the Arkansas Soybean Association. This file contains production information on contests since 1999.

For additional information on the soybean yield contests in Arkansas, please contact the Arkansas Soybean Promotion Board (www.themiraclebean.com) or Arkansas Soybean Association at 501-666-1418 or swsoy@aristotle.net. Information will also be available on both websites www.arkansassoybean.com and www.themiraclebean.com.