June 2021





Contact: Carson Horn The Communications Group 501-515-0849 <u>chorn@comgroup.com</u>

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Application Period for the 2021 Grow for the Green Soybean Yield Contest Officially Open

Entry deadline is August 1, 2021



Caption: The 2021 Grow for the Green Soybean Yield Challenge is now open for applications.

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (June 23, 2021) – The application period for the 11th annual <u>Grow for the Green</u> <u>Soybean Yield Challenge</u> is officially open. All soybean producers in Arkansas are eligible to participate in this contest, which is administered by the <u>Arkansas Soybean Association</u> (ASA) and funded by the <u>Arkansas Soybean Promotion Board</u> (ASPB), with crop management assistance provided by<u>The</u> <u>University of Arkansas Extension Services</u> (UAEX). Participating producers from across the state compete for a chance to win a cash prize by producing the highest yield crop in their region. The contest was established to recognize and reward the top soybean producers in Arkansas, collect valuable production data, and promote best production practices in the state.

"The Grow for the Green Soybean Yield Challenge has shown Arkansas producers that they don't have to settle for 60 bushels an acre," said Brad Doyle, GFG Chairman for the Arkansas Soybean Association. "When the contest started the average harvest was between 60 and 70 bushels. Now, the entries are normally all over 85 bushels an acre."

The 2021 edition of the contest follows the format of previous years in which the state is divided into seven geographic regions or categories, plus one conventional (non-GMO) category, that covers the entire state. These include:

1. Northeast Delta: Mississippi, Crittenden, and East of Crowley's Ridge in Clay, Greene, Craighead, Poinsett, Cross counties

2. Northeast: Randolph, Lawrence and West of Crowley's Ridge in Clay, Greene, Craighead, Poinsett, Cross counties

3. White River Basin: Independence, Jackson, Woodruff, White, Monroe counties

4. Central & Grand Prairie: Pulaski, Lonoke, Prairie, Arkansas counties

5. East Central Delta: St. Francis, Lee, Phillips, Desha (Snow Lake Area) counties

6. Southeast Delta: Jefferson, Lincoln, Drew, Ashley, Chicot, Desha counties

7. Western: Remainder of the state

8. Conventional Division: Entire State non-GMO production.

Cash prizes for each category will be awarded to the top three producers at the ASA Annual Meeting in January. Those who place first in each category will receive a cash prize of \$7,500, second place contestants will receive \$5,000, and third place contestants will collect \$2,500. Producers who achieve 100 bushels for the first time are eligible to receive a portion of an additional \$5,000 in prize money and a paid registration to the <u>2022 Commodity Classic</u> in New Orleans, Louisiana. For existing members of the 100 Bushel Club, producers will compete in a new category against each other for a \$10,000 grand prize. As an added bonus, producers who submit their harvest report are eligible to receive a \$100 incentive.

"The growers who participate in this contest are leading the industry by putting the latest science into practice," said <u>Donald Morton</u>, ASPB chairman and soybean producer from Prairie County. "It is fitting to recognize the efforts of these producers whose commitment to production excellence helps drive the Arkansas soybean industry forward."

Production data and contest <u>results</u> from 2020 and previous years are available on the ASA website. <u>Entry forms and contest rules</u> are available upon request from the ASA office at 501-666-1418 or your local county extension agent. They can also be downloaded at <u>www.arkansassoybean.com</u> or <u>www.themiraclebean.com</u>.

This announcement comes during the Arkansas Soybean Promotion Board's year-long celebration of its 50th Anniversary. To commemorate this industry achievement, ASPB is highlighting the milestone through a variety of planned activities and communications efforts during 2021. The Arkansas Soybean Promotion Board was established in 1971, providing soybean producers in Arkansas an organization through which they could work to improve the state's soybean industry. Today, Arkansas consistently ranks among the top 10 soybean producing states nationally, exporting 50% of its crop and generating an annual economic impact of nearly \$2 billion in the state. For the latest news and updates about this year's 50th anniversary celebration, follow the Arkansas Soybean Promotion Board on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter or sign up to receive the monthly Bean Brief newsletter.

###

About the Arkansas Soybean Promotion Board

The Arkansas Soybean Promotion Board is led by nine volunteer farmer-leaders nominated by various producer organizations in Arkansas and appointed by the Governor. Soybeans are Arkansas's top row crop with approximately 3 million acres planted each year, generating an annual economic impact of \$2 billion. Arkansas is consistently ranked among the top ten soybean producing states nationally, exporting 50 percent of its crop. ASPB invests more than \$2.2 million in research each year as part of its commitment to the continued sustainability of the Arkansas soybean industry. Learn more by visiting www.themiraclebean.com.

Arkansas Soybean Association

Since 1964, the Arkansas Soybean Association has worked diligently to enhance the economic viability and social well-being of Arkansas soybean producers and their industry. The ASA is an affiliate of the American Soybean Association and is governed by a board of 30 volunteer farmer-leaders from across the state. Learn more about the Arkansas Soybean Association at <u>www.arkansassoybean.com</u>.

FOLLOW US ON SOCIAL MEDIA

