

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

2022 Grow for the Green Soybean Yield Challenge application period officially open

Entry deadline is August 1, 2022



Caption: The 2022 Grow for the Green Soybean Yield Challenge is now open for applications through August 1, 2022.

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (May 11, 2022) – The application period for the 12th annual <u>Grow for the Green Soybean Yield Challenge</u> is officially open now through August 1, 2022. Soybean producers in Arkansas are eligible and encouraged to participate in this year's contest administered by the <u>Arkansas Soybean Association</u> (ASA) and funded by the <u>Arkansas Soybean Promotion Board</u> (ASPB), with crop management assistance provided by the <u>University of Arkansas Extension Services</u> (UADA). Participating producers from across the state compete for a chance at winning a cash prize for producing the crop with the highest yield in their region. The contest was established to recognize and reward the top soybean producers in Arkansas, collect valuable production data and promote best production practices in the state.

"The Grow for the Green Soybean Yield Challenge continues to play an important role in Arkansas soybean production," said Brad Doyle, GFG Chairman for the Arkansas Soybean Association and Poinsett County farmer. "While encouraging more production, it's also an opportunity to demonstrate the soybean industry's importance and value to the state's economy."







The 2022 edition of the contest follows the form of previous years in which the state is divided into seven geographic regions or categories, plus one conventional (non-GMO) category, that covers the entire state. These include:

- **1. Northeast Delta:** Mississippi, Crittenden, and East of Crowley's Ridge in Clay, Greene, Craighead, Poinsett, Cross counties
- **2. Northeast:** Randolph, Lawrence and West of Crowley's Ridge in Clay, Greene, Craighead, Poinsett, Cross counties
- 3. White River Basin: Independence, Jackson, Woodruff, White, Monroe counties
- 4. Central & Grand Prairie: Pulaski, Lonoke, Prairie, Arkansas counties
- 5. East Central Delta: St. Francis, Lee, Phillips, Desha (Snow Lake Area) counties
- 6. Southeast Delta: Jefferson, Lincoln, Drew, Ashley, Chicot, Desha counties
- 7. Western: Remainder of the state
- 8. Conventional Division: Entire State non-GMO production.

Cash prizes for each category will be awarded to the top three producers at the ASA Annual Meeting in January 2023. Those who place first in each category will receive a cash prize of \$7,500, second place contestants will receive \$5,000, and third place contestants will collect \$2,500. Producers who achieve 100 bushels for the first time are eligible to receive a portion of an additional \$5,000 in prize money and a paid registration to the 2023 Commodity Classic in Orlando, Florida. For existing members of the 100 Bushel Club, producers will compete in a category against each other for a \$10,000 grand prize. As an added bonus, producers who submit their harvest report are eligible to receive a \$100 incentive.

"The participating growers remain the leaders in the industry by staying updated on the latest scientific development," said <u>Donald Morton</u>, ASPB chairman and soybean producer from Prairie County. "This contest recognizes the passion they have for their work and continues furthering the soybean industry in Arkansas."

Production data and contest <u>results</u> from 2021 and previous years are available <u>here</u>. <u>Entry forms and contest rules</u> are available upon request from your local county extension agent or by contacting the ASA office at 501-666-1418. Applications can also be downloaded <u>here</u>.

###

Arkansas Soybean Promotion Board

The Arkansas Soybean Promotion Board is led by nine volunteer farmer-leaders nominated by various producer organizations in Arkansas and appointed by the Governor. Soybeans are Arkansas's top row crop with approximately 3 million acres planted each year, generating an annual economic impact of \$2 billion. Arkansas is consistently ranked among the top ten soybean producing states nationally, exporting 50% of its crop. ASPB invests more than \$2.2 million in research each year as part of its commitment to the continued sustainability of the Arkansas soybean industry. Learn more by visiting www.themiraclebean.com.

Arkansas Soybean Association







Since 1964, the Arkansas Soybean Association has worked diligently to enhance the economic viability and social well-being of Arkansas soybean producers and their industry. The ASA is an affiliate of the American Soybean Association and is governed by a board of 30 volunteer farmer-leaders from across the state. Learn more about the Arkansas Soybean Association at www.arkansassoybean.com.