Skip to content

Arkansas Farmer Appointed to National Soybean Board Jim Carroll III will be sworn in at annual meeting

LITTLE ROCK (November 7, 2018) – U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Sonny Perdue appointed Arkansas farmer Jim Carroll III to the United Soybean Board (USB). Carroll of Brinkley, Arkansas is a returning member having served nine consecutive years on the national board, where he has represented the Arkansas Soybean Promotion Board since May 2010. Carroll, along with 15 other farmer-leaders, will be sworn in as directors at the USB annual meeting in St. Louis in early December. The 16 appointees include five new directors with 11 returning. All will serve three-year terms.

“We look forward to welcoming the new and returning directors to our board,” says Lewis Bainbridge, USB chair and soybean farmer from Ethan, South Dakota. “I know these individuals will work hard to invest soy checkoff funds to further our goal of promoting U.S. soy’s sustainability and improving profit potential for soybean farmers.”

USB directs soybean checkoff funds to research, marketing and promotional efforts that maximize profit opportunities for all U.S. soybean farmers. In addition, USB directors aim to develop new and existing markets and build preference for U.S. soy, specifically in the areas of meal, oil and sustainability.

USB’s 73 farmer-directors work on behalf of all U.S. soybean farmers to achieve maximum value for their soy checkoff investments. These volunteers invest and leverage checkoff funds in programs and partnerships to drive soybean innovation beyond the bushel and increase preference for U.S. soy. That preference is based on U.S. soybean meal and oil quality and the sustainability of U.S. soybean farmers. As stipulated in the federal Soybean Promotion, Research and Consumer Information Act, the USDA Agricultural Marketing Service has oversight responsibilities for USB and the soy checkoff.

Locally, Carroll served as a member on the Arkansas Soybean Promotion Board, which consists of soybean producers appointed by the governor and nominated by various producer organizations within Arkansas. Although board members contribute many hours of their time to administering the program, they serve without pay.

For more information on the United Soybean Board, visit

For more information on the Arkansas Soybean Promotion Board, visit

Scroll To Top