Skip to content

Arkansas Soybean Producers Break 100 Bushel Mark

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (September 28, 2016) – The Grow for the Green Soybean Yield Challenge is pleased to announce five new members of the Arkansas 100 Bushel Club. James Wray, James Wray Farms, in Poinsett County harvested a plot of Pioneer 47T36. He set a new Arkansas record with a yield of 118.802 bushels/acre. In addition to Wray, Layne Miles, Double M Farms, harvested a plot of 100.994 bushels/acre. He planted NK47K5 in Chicot County. Martin Henry from Desha County harvested a plot of 113.888 bu/a of Armor 48D24. Henry planted his soybeans on April 5 and harvested on September 16.

Also joining the club are James E Wray Jr. of Poinsett County. Wray planted Pioneer 47T36 on April 9, harvested September 16 and had a yield of 109.701 bu/a. Michael Taylor Jr. of Phillips County planted Asgrow 47X6 on April 8, harvested on September 15 and reported a yield of 101.319 bu/a.

All five producers report successful efforts to keep the fields free from pests (weeds, diseases, insects) and irrigated as needed.

This contest is funded by the Arkansas Soybean Promotion Board using producer checkoff funds and is managed by the Arkansas Soybean Association. The University of Arkansas System Division of Agriculture is a major component of the contest by providing information to producers and serving as judges. The contest fields consist of five to seven acres and must have been planted in soybeans at least once in the previous three years.

These producers, along with the other division winners in the contest, will be recognized at the Annual Meeting of the Arkansas Soybean Association on Tuesday, January 24, 2017 at ASU-Newport.


Scroll To Top