Skip to content

Arkansas Soybean Promotion Board Announces New Board Members and Officers for 2013

The Arkansas Soybean Promotion Board has announced its board of directors for 2013. Each member of the board is appointed by the governor and serves a two-year term. Board members include:
Shannon Davis, Chairman, Bono; West Higginbothom, Vice Chairman, Marianna; Gary Sitzer, Secretary/Treasurer, Weiner; Jim Carroll, United Soybean Board (USB) director, Brinkley; John Freeman, Dumas; Donald Morton, Jr., Des Arc; Andrew Oliver, Proctor; Rusty Smith, USB director, Des Arc; Joe Thrash, Conway; Dr. Lanny Ashlock of Conway serves as Research Coordinator; Robert Stobaugh of Atkins serves as a USB director.
Jim Carroll and Rusty Smith serve as USB directors on the USB Oil Action Team. Also representing Arkansas, Robert Stobaugh of Atkins serves as a USB director on the USB Meal Action Team. Stobaugh also serves on the National Biodiesel Board.
Arkansas currently ranks 10th in the nation in soybean production, producing 136 million bushels annually valued at more than $2 billion.  Arkansas soybeans are grown by thousands of Arkansas farmers in 50 of the state’s 75 counties. 
The Arkansas Soybean Promotion Board was established to improve the profitability of soybean production in Arkansas and to distribute funds from the checkoff for research and extension projects conducted by the University of Arkansas Agricultural Experiment Station and Cooperative Extension Service.  
The board consists of soybean producers nominated by various producer organizations within Arkansas and appointed by the governor. Although board members contribute many hours of their time to administering the program, they serve without pay. 
The USB, through soybean checkoff investments, is committed to funding the research, development and commercialization of U.S. grown soybeans.  
# # #
Scroll To Top