Skip to content

Arkansas Soybean Scholarship Winners Announced

Arkansas Soybean Scholarship Winners Announced

Promoting agriculture careers to FFA seniors across the state

Little Rock, Ark., June 6, 2016The Arkansas Soybean Promotion Board has awarded scholarships to three students who will be attending Arkansas universities. The recipients were high school seniors and members of the Arkansas Association of Future Farmers of America (FFA) in Craighead, Scott and Clark Counties.

Each of the winners were presented with a plaque and $750 scholarship during the FFA State Convention at Camp Couchdale on Thursday, June 2.

“Our scholarship contest provides the opportunity for seniors interested in agriculture to learn about the Arkansas soybean industry by interviewing individuals who have chosen agriculture as a career,” ASPB Chairman West Higginbothom said. “Investing in the future of Arkansas students is a priority for soybean producers across the state, which is why we started this program.”

High school seniors participating in local FFA chapters were asked to interview an agricultural professional in the soybean industry and write an essay describing what they learned. The winners were selected by members of the Arkansas Soybean Promotion Board. The scholarship winners were:

·         Elle Johnson, Mansfield High School: Northwest District

·         Cory Johnson, Brookland High School: Eastern District

·         Jordan Sanford, Gurdon High School: Southern District

The winning essays can be found in the Students section at

The Arkansas Soybean Promotion Board consists of soybean producers appointed by the Governor and nominated by various producer organizations within Arkansas. Although board members contribute many hours of their time to administering the program, they serve without pay.

# # #

Scroll To Top