Skip to content

Arkansas Soybean Scholarship Winners Announced

Little Rock, Ark., JUNE 4, 2015The Arkansas Soybean Promotion Board has awarded scholarships to two students soon to be attending Arkansas universities. The recipients were high school seniors and members of the Arkansas chapter of Future Farmers of America (FFA) in Craighead and Johnson Counties.

Each of the winners were presented a plaque and $750 check during the FFA State Convention at Camp Couchdale on June 4th.

“Our scholarship contest provides the opportunity for seniors interested in agriculture to learn about the Arkansas soybean industry by interviewing individuals who have chosen agriculture as a career,” ASPB Chairman West Higginbothom said. “Investing in the future of Arkansas students is a priority for soybean producers across the state, which is why we started this program.”

High School seniors participating in local FFA chapters were asked to interview an agricultural professional in the soybean industry and write an essay describing what they learned. The winners were selected by members of the Arkansas Soybean Promotion Board. The scholarship winners were:

·         Peyton Frost, Lamar High School: Northwest District

·         Tabitha L. Hudspeth, Nettleton High School: Eastern District

The winning essays can be found in the Students section at

The Arkansas Soybean Promotion Board consists of soybean producers appointed by the Governor and nominated by various producer organizations within Arkansas. Although board members contribute many hours of their time to administering the program, they serve without pay.

# # #

Scroll To Top