Skip to content

Grow for the Green Soybean Yield Contest – Entry Deadline August 1, 2015

Little Rock (July 8, 2015) – The Arkansas Soybean Association is pleased to announce the continuation of the Grow for the Green Soybean Yield Challenge.  This is the 5th year for the contest and it is open to all soybean producers in Arkansas and the entry deadline is August 1.

            The 2015 format continues with the geographic regions and prizes. The state is divided into seven (7) geographic regions and an entire state conventional (non-gmo) category. Categories are:

1. Northeast Delta: Mississippi, Crittenden, and East of Crowley’s Ridge in Clay, Greene, Craighead, Poinsett, Cross counties

2. Northeast: Randolph, Lawrence and West of Crowley’s Ridge in Clay, Greene, Craighead, Poinsett, Cross counties

3. White River Basin: Independence, Jackson, Woodruff, White, Monroe

4. Central & Grand Prairie: Pulaski, Lonoke, Prairie, Arkansas

5. East Central Delta: St. Francis, Lee, Phillips, Desha (Snow Lake Area)

6. Southeast Delta: Jefferson, Lincoln, Drew, Ashley, Chicot, Desha

7. Western: Remainder of the state

8. Conventional Division: Entire state non-gmo production.

            Cash prizes for each category will be awarded to the top 3 producers (minimum of 60 bushels/acre) at the Arkansas Soybean Association Annual Meeting in January.  First place is worth $7,500, 2nd place is worth $5000, and 3rd place is $2500.  In addition, the top producer in the state across all categories will receive additional prize money and a trip to Commodity Classic in March 2016.

            New this year is a bonus for producers achieving 120 bu/A by 2020.  The prize for this portion of the contest is $10,000 (split if more than one producer reaches goal).

            Crop production information is being compiled by personnel with the Arkansas Soybean Association and/or the University Of Arkansas Division Of Agriculture as a resource for Arkansas producers on all those who enter the contests.  2014 data along with all previous contest results are available on the Arkansas Soybean Association website at  or the Arkansas Soybean Promotion Board website at   Extension Agronomist for Soybeans, Jeremy Ross says, “these contests and the production information gleaned from the producers show the continued potential of soybean production in Arkansas.  All producers should be interested in the results. “The 2014 crop year produced a repeat winner (Matt Miles, McGehee) and 2 new members in the 100 Bushel Club.   Sherrie Miles, McGehee and David Bennett, Lake Village each achieved the elusive 100 Bu/acre with Bennett breaking the state record at 112 bu/acre.   They split the $10,000 prize money.  New producers that achieve the 100 bushel mark are eligible for $5000 (divided if more than one) and membership in the club.

            This contest is administered by the Arkansas Soybean Association with funding provided by the Arkansas Soybean Promotion Board using soybean checkoff funds.  Crop management assistance is provided by the University Of Arkansas Division Of Agriculture Extension Personnel and many of our state certified crop consultants.

            The field must have been planted to soybeans in at least one of the last three production years prior to 2015 and the contestant must have paid the appropriate checkoff assessments on the soybeans.

            Entry forms with a complete list of rules are available by contacting the office at 501-666-1418 or from your local county agent.  They can also be downloaded at or

Scroll To Top