Skip to content

Grow for the Green Soybean Yield Contest

Entry Deadline August 1, 2014

Little Rock (July 10, 2014) – The Arkansas Soybean Association is pleased to announce the continuation of the Grow for the Green Soybean Yield Challenge.  This is the 4th year for the contest and it is open to all soybean producers in Arkansas and the entry deadline is August 1.

The 2014 format continues with the geographic regions and prizes. The state is divided into seven (7) geographic regions and an entire state conventional (non-gmo) category.  Categories are:

  1. Northeast Delta: Mississippi, Crittenden, East of Crowley’s Ridge (Clay, Greene, Craighead, Poinsett, Cross)
  2. Northeast: Randolph, Lawrence, West of Crowley’s Ridge (Clay, Greene, Craighead, Poinsett, Cross)
  3. White River Basin: Independence, Jackson, Woodruff, White, Monroe
  4. Central & Grand Prairie: Pulaski, Lonoke, Prairie, Arkansas
  5. East Central Delta: St. Francis, Lee, Phillips, Desha (Snow Lake Area)
  6. Southeast Delta: Jefferson, Lincoln, Drew, Ashley, Chicot, Desha
  7. Western: Remainder of the state
  8. Conventional Division: Entire state non-gmo production.

Cash prizes for each category will be awarded to the top 3 producers (minimum of 60 bushels/acre) at the Arkansas Soybean Association Annual Meeting in January.  First place is worth $10,000, 2nd place is worth $75000, and 3rd place is $5000.  In additional, the top 3 in the state across all categories will receive additional prize money.

Crop production information is being compiled by personnel with the Arkansas Soybean Association and/or the University Of Arkansas Division Of Agriculture as a resource for Arkansas producers on all those who enter the contests.  2013 data is available on the Arkansas Soybean Association website at .

Extension Agronomist for Soybeans, Jeremy Ross says, “these contests and the production information gleaned from the producers show the continued potential of soybean production in Arkansas.  All producers should be interested in the results.”

The 2013 crop year produced 3 winners in the Race for 100 Yield Challenge.  Matt Miles, McGehee; Nelson Crow, Dumas; and Eddie Tackett, Atkins each achieved the elusive 100 Bu/acre.  They split the $50,000 prize money.  They are now the founding members of the Arkansas 100 Bushel Club.  Producers that achieve the 100 bushel mark are eligible for $10,000 (divided if more than one) and membership in the club.

This contest is administered by the Arkansas Soybean Association with funding provided by the Arkansas Soybean Promotion Board using soybean checkoff funds.  Crop management assistance is provided by the University Of Arkansas Division Of Agriculture Extension Personnel and many of our state certified crop consultants.

The field must have been planted to soybeans in at least one of the last three production years prior to 2014 and the contestant must have paid the appropriate checkoff assessments on the soybeans.

Entry forms with a complete list of rules are available by contacting the office at 501-666-1418 or from your local county agent.  They can also be downloaded at or

Scroll To Top